HKDI Gallery

Admission Registration

【Latest Precautionary Measures

  • For everyone’s health and safety, capacity is limited, and an advance ticket is required for visitors. Reserve online and present your e-ticket at the entrance of the Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI). Maximum four tickets per registration.
  • Except for exempted persons, all visitors entering the HKDI Gallery and all other venues on the campus are required to use the ‘LeaveHomeSafe’ mobile application to scan the venue QR code and comply with the ‘Vaccine Pass’ arrangements as well as other requirements under Cap.599F.
  • All visitors are required to fill out a health declaration form onsite, or you may fill out the e-form within 24 hours before visiting campus and present the confirmation email upon arrival.
  • Visitors are subject to a temperature check before admission. Visitors with fever symptoms will not be admitted.
  • For the detailed measures, please refer to https://hkdigallery_exhibition2122_admission.eventbrite.com.

About the Exhibition

Co-organised by HKDI Gallery and Hong Kong Palace Museum (HKPM), the exhibition reveals the aesthetics and value of traditional wooden craftsmanship behind the contemporary design furniture for HKPM’s Scholars Commons. It features a Chinese furniture project by two fine craftsmen, Mr. Tse Shing Luen and Mr. Roy Ng. They will employ the rarely seen traditional Chinese wooden craftsmanship to produce the design furniture by renowned designers Mr. Samuel Chen and Mr. Freeman Lau. The exhibition will also feature video documentaries that narrate the unseen stories and insights behind traditional wooden craftsmanship to benefit academia, design community and students.

Exhibition Photos

The Making of Traditional Chinese Furniture

“There is no definite way to wooden furniture making”, Tse Shing Luen says, “We will see what needs to be done and find a way to do it.”

Here we take Freeman Lau’s Ming Intertwined chair as an example to see how furniture is made with traditional craftsmanship and today’s technology. From the factory in Fanling, where each piece of wood is handpicked to be processed into timbers in sizes suitable for the machinery, the timbers are delivered to Roy Ng’s workshop in Fotan. They are then cut and planned into smaller pieces, close to the sizes of the actual parts. The timbers are processed in batches for efficiency. Depending on the type of work that needs to be done on the timber, they are allocated to different stations, with different tools and machinery, ready for the next step.

Before going to the woodworking machines, Tse and Ng would study the design again before going to production. Tse would make a 1:1 drawing by hand, testing samples, like the armrest, where he would discuss with Lau the curves and other details. Ng would prepare a CAD drawing to check if all the parts fit together seamlessly. Together they made a set of prototypes for the furniture series, which are now exhibited in the “Unseen” exhibition.

All the parts are connected with mortise and tenon joints. The mortise is to be made in the mortiser, which looks a bit like a drill press but makes a square hole instead of around one. Tse and Ng have their preferred machinery for making the tenon, where they find their balance of speed and accuracy. Tse prefers the cross-cut saw, where the 45-degree angle double tenon can be made with a single machine. Ng does it a bit differently by first making the tenon on a combination machine, and switching to a circular saw bench to finish the 45-degree cuts. The steps that come next are very similar, if not the same for the 2 craftsmen. One of the difficulties they had to solve was the backrest. The wood is very hard to bend because of its density, so they made several trials before finding a proper way for steam bending it. One of the improvements made with this version of the Intertwined chair is the intertwined part. Ng first made a CAD version of the part, then had it made with a CNC router. By positioning it at the right angle, they could actually get a more accurate result.

When all the parts are made and waiting to be assembled, there is one more thing to be done before assembling it, which is sanding. Most of us assume sanding will be the last step when we sand it with different sandpaper grit until it is very smooth to touch. There are certain areas that are more difficult to sand after it’s assembled, especially at the joints, where different directions of the wood grains meet. Those areas will be sanded first. After the chair is assembled, depending on the design, there will be more sanding, coloring, and polishing.

A chair is used as a demonstration here because it involves most of the steps needed to make a piece of furniture. It is also more complicated as a chair is the piece of furniture closest to our body. As Tse mentioned, there is no definite way of furniture making, and after seeing the production process of a chair, perhaps you can try figuring out how the other pieces, like Samuel Chan’s Memory Display Unit shown in the exhibition, are made as well.

  

Creatives

Designer - Freeman Lau

Designer - Samuel Chan

Craftsman - Tse Shing Luen

Craftsman - Roy Ng

Curatorial Team - Michael Leung

Curatorial Team - Tin Ho Lau

Ming Intertwined Chair | Designed by Freeman Lau

Memory Display Unit | Designed by Samuel Chan

Online Panel Discussion

Dialogue: Traditional Chinese Furniture Design and Cultural Heritage

▎Panelists ▎

Dr. Louis Ng, Director of Hong Kong Palace Museum

Mr. Freeman Lau, BBS, Designer & Co-Founder of KL&K CREATIVE STRATEGICS

Mr. Tse Shing Luen, Senior Carpenter Master

Mr. Roy Ng, New Generation Carpenter

 

▎Moderator  ▎

Mr. Michael Chan, Head of Academic Development of HKDI

Events & Public Services

Event:

Online Panel Discussion

Topic

Dialogue: Traditional Chinese Furniture Design and Cultural Heritage

Date: 

13 May 2022 (Fri) 

Time: 

5:00pm

Speakers: 


▎Panelists ▎

Dr. Louis Ng, Director of Hong Kong Palace Museum

Mr. Freeman Lau, BBS, Designer & Co-Founder of KL&K CREATIVE STRATEGICS

Mr. Tse Shing Luen, Senior Carpenter Master

Mr. Roy Ng, New Generation Carpenter


▎Moderator  ▎

Mr. Michael Chan, Head of Academic Development of HKDI

Language

This event was conducted in Cantonese only

Venue

ZOOM Webinar & YouTube Live

Watch Recording:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxZrf_Vlm2E&feature=youtu.be 



Public Guided Tours 

Guided Tours can be arranged for schools and community groups by advanced booking. Registration and enquiries: hkdi-gallery@vtc.edu.hk / +852 3928 2566  

Learning Resource

Exhibition Guide (Download PDF) 

Visit Us

Exhibition Period   

14.05 - 13.06.2022 

(Closed on Tuesdays)  

 

Opening Hours  

10:00 - 20:00  

 

Venue   

Experience Centre, Hong Kong Design Institute  

3 King Ling Road, Tseung Kwan O, NT  

(MTR Tiu Keng Leng Station Exit A2)  

 

Enquiries  

hkdi-gallery@vtc.edu.hk / +852 3928 2566  

*For everyone’s health and safety, capacity is limited, and an advance ticket is required for visitors.  

Acknowledgement

HKDI Gallery

登记入场

【最新防疫措施】

  • 为保障每个人的健康,我们限制每日入场人次,如参观展览,请先到网站预约,入场请于香港知专设计学院闸口出示电子登记纪录。每次交易可登记最多四张门票
  • 除豁免人士外,进入HKDI Gallery及校园所有其他场所的访客须使用「安心出行」流动应用程式扫瞄场所二维码,并符合「疫苗通行证」及法例第 599F 章的其他要求。
  • 进入HKDI Gallery及校园所有其他场所的访客请于接待处填写健康申报表,或到访前24小时内预先填写网上健康申报表并于接待处出示确认电邮。
  • 进入本馆人士须接受测量体温,若有发烧征状(等如或高于37.5°C),请勿进入HKDI Gallery。
  • 更多防疫措施,请参考:https://hkdigallery_exhibition2122_admission.eventbrite.com

关于展览

HKDI Gallery 与香港故宫文化博物馆携手合作,举办「看不到的 – 传统中式家具制作」展览,以当代设计解构及重现中国传统家具的巧手工艺及传统智慧。展览项目源自香港故宫文化博物馆士林馆中陈维正及刘小康的设计家具。本展览将呈现由两代匠人谢成联及吴铤灏,以传统中国传统木工手艺术,演释著名设计师陈维正及刘小康的作品,推动公众及学界深入认识中国工艺,关注文化传承。

展览相片

传统中式家具制作

「没有一个特定的方法去制作木制家具。」谢成联说,「我们会看需要做什么然后找方法去做好。」

我们就以刘小康的明式绕脚椅作为例子,看看以传统手工艺及当今技术是如何去制作家具。从粉岭工厂开始,每一块木材都经过精心挑选,加工成适合机器大小的木材(称为「开木」),然后运到吴铤灏位于火炭的工场。木材再被切割并刨成接近实际部件尺寸的小块。它们会被分批加工以提高效率。根据木材所需的不同工序,被分配到不同工具及机器的位置,为下一步作好准备。

在开始使用木工机器制作前,谢和吴会再次研究设计。谢手绘出椅子的1:1图像(称为「放样」),用木材去测试制作,例如手柄样本,然后跟刘去讨论弯度及其它细节。吴则会先准备CAD计算机绘图用作检查所有部件是否能无缝接合。他们一起制作出家具系列的一套原型,现正于「看不到的」展览中展出。

所有部件均采用明/暗接合。榫眼以方榫机制作,它的外观有点像钻床,但制出的是方形孔而非圆形孔。谢和吴对用作制出榫头的机器各有所好,他们要在速度和准确性中找平衡。谢喜欢横切锯,一部机器已可以制作出45度角双榫头。吴用的做法有点不同,他先用万用台锯制作榫头,然后转以圆锯台去完成45度角的切割。两位工匠接下来所做的步骤如不是一模一样也是非常相似的。其中一个要解决的难题就是靠背。因用上的木材密度高所以很坚硬而难于屈曲,所以他们经过数次试验才找到蒸气弯曲的适当方法。此版本的绕脚椅其中一个改进的地方就是其绕脚部分。吴首先画出此部分的CAD计算机绘图,然后以数控雕刻机制作出来。以正确的角度去定位,就可以获得更精准的结果。

当所有部件已经完成,在准备组装前,有一件事需要做,就是打磨。大部分人会以为打磨是最后步骤,我们会以不同砂纸打磨至摸上手非常光滑。有些位置在组装后则会较难磨滑,尤其是不同方向木纹交汇的接驳位,这些地方就需要先打磨。当椅子装嵌好后,根据不同的设计会需要更多的打磨、上色及抛光。

我们以椅子作示范,是因为它包含了制作一件家具的大部分工序,其更复杂的原因就是椅子最贴近我们的身体。如谢所言,家具制作并没有一个特定的方法,当你见过一张椅子的制作过程,或许你能尝试找出其它作品,如陈维正于展出的记忆展示单位是如何制成的。

  

创意团队

设计师 -刘小康

设计师 - 陈维正

木艺匠人 - 谢成联

木艺匠人 -吴铤灏

策展团队 - 梁展邦

策展团队 -刘天浩

明式绕脚椅 | 刘小康设计

「忆」陈列架 | 陈维正设计

网上展览研讨会

对话:中式家具设计与工艺承传

▎嘉宾 ▎

 吴志华博士,香港故宫文化博物馆馆长

 刘小康先生,著名设计师及靳刘高创意策略创办人

 谢成联师傅,资深硬木家具匠人

 吴铤灏先生,木器创作新生代

 

▎主持人  ▎

陈诗华,香港知专设计学院 (HKDI) 学术发展主管

活动及公众服务

节目:

网上展览研讨会

主题

对话:中式家具设计与工艺承传

日期: 

二零二二年五月十三日 (五) 

时间: 

5:00pm

演讲讲者: 


▎嘉宾 ▎

吴志华博士,香港故宫文化博物馆馆长

劉小康先生,著名設計師及靳劉高創意策略創辦人

谢成联师傅,资深硬木家具匠人

吴铤灏先生,木器创作新生代

▎主持人  ▎

陈诗华,香港知专设计学院 (HKDI) 学术发展主管

语言

是次网上活动以广东话进行

地点

ZOOM Webinar 及 YouTube直播

重温:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxZrf_Vlm2E&feature=youtu.be 



展览导赏 

如有关于团体展览导赏安排的查询,请致电3928 2566或电邮至hkdi-gallery@vtc.edu.hk,与学院外事处展览部行政助理李小姐联络。 

教学资源

展览手册(下载 PDF) 

参观展览

展期   

14.05 - 13.06.2022 

(逢星期二休馆) 

 
放时间   

10:00 - 20:00 

 

地点    

香港知专设计学院体验中心

新界将军澳景岭路3号   

(港铁调景岭站A2出口) 


 
查询   

hkdi-gallery@vtc.edu.hk / +852 3928 2566 
 
 

*为保障每个人的健康,我们限制每日入场人次,如参观展览,请先到网站预约  

鸣谢